Men's soccer schedule released

WATERVILLE, Maine -- With a new soccer field for 2017, the Colby College men will open the season at St. Joseph's College on Tuesday, Sept. 5, at 7:30 p.m.

The Mules, under head coach Ewan Seabrook, open with a tough league schedule. Colby plays at defending national champion Tufts University in the second game on Saturday, Sept. 9, at 2:30 p.m.
 

Colby's home opener will be on Tuesday, Sept. 12, in a tough non-conference game with local rival Thomas College at 4 p.m. The Mules then have weekend home games against Williams College (1:30 p.m.) Saturday and Connecticut College (2:30 p.m.) on Sunday. The Ephs and Camels both finished among the top four in the league last year.

The Mules (5-8-2 overall last year) play at University of New England at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 20, in the only other night game of the year. 
 

Colby has a big league game with Trinity on Saturday, Sept. 23, at home.  The Bantams finished one-half game ahead of the Mules for the final conference playoff spot in 2016.

Colby will have two non-conference games and two road league games after the Trinity contest. The Mules add Gordon College to the schedule for a 4 p.m. home game on Tuesday, Sept. 26. After a road contest at Middlebury College on Saturday, Sept. 30, Colby will host Husson University on Tuesday, Oct. 3, at 4 p.m. The Mules play at Wesleyan University on Saturday, Sept. 7.
 

Amherst, which finished first during the regular season last year, comes to Waterville for a 1:30 p.m. game on Saturday, Oct. 14. 

The Mules will play at Bowdoin College for a 2:30 p.m. start on Tuesday, Oct. 17, during Colby's fall break. The final road game of the season is the long bus trip to Hamilton College for a 1 p.m. start on Saturday, Oct. 21.
 

Colby closes out the regular season on Wednesday, Oct. 25, with a 3 p.m. home game with Bates College.

2017 Colby Men's Soccer Schedule

Tue., Sept. 5: at St. Joseph's, 7:30 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 9: at Tufts, 2:30 p.m.

Tue., Sept. 12: Thomas, 4 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 16: Williams, 1:30 p.m.

Sun., Sept. 17: Connecticut College, 2:30 p.m.

Wed., Sept. 20: at U. New England, 7 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 23: Trinity, 1:30 p.m.

Tue., Sept. 26: Gordon, 4 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 30: at Middlebury, 11 a.m.

Tue., Oct. 3: Husson, 4 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 7: at Wesleyan, 2 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 14: Amherst, 1:30 p.m.

Tue., Oct. 17: at Bowdoin, 2:30 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 21: at Hamilton, 1 p.m.

Wed., Oct. 25: Bates, 3 p.m.