Five winners for men's track and field at Wheaton meet

NORTON, Mass. -- The Colby College men's indoor track and field team had five winners in competition at the Wheaton College Invitational on Saturday.

Brian Sommers, Griffin Gagnon, Michael Hilton (pictured), James Gibson, and Adam Knapp-Wachsner won events for Colby in the non-scoring meet.

Sommers, in a field of 31 sprinters, won the 200-meter dash in 22.76, while Gagnon took the 3,000 meters in a time of 8:55.51. Hilton captured the pole vault in 13-11.25, Gibson continued his strong start to his first season with a win in the long jump (21-10), and Knapp-Wachsner went 44-2 in the triple jump.

Gibson took second place in the triple jump (42-8), while Andy Fullerton was second in the long jump (20-10.5).

Colby's 1,600 relay team of Landon Summers, Pedro Caballero, Sommers, and Marcques Houston placed second in 3:24.45. Gagnon, James O'Donnell, Keith Barnatchez, and Noel Feeney were second in the distance medley relay in 3:24.45.

The Mules received a third from Tom Barry in the mile (4:46.19) and fourth-place finishes from Caballero in the 400 meters (52.15) and Feeney in the 3,000 meters (9:00.67).

Full results:

Summers breaks school record
February 25, 2017 Summers breaks school record
Chelimo second in 5,000 meters
February 24, 2017 Chelimo second in 5,000 meters
Sommers, Gagnon lead men at BU
February 11, 2017 Sommers, Gagnon lead men at BU