Men's cross country wins State of Maine championship

GRAY, Maine -- The Colby College men's cross country team won the State of Maine Championships for the first time since 1993 and the third time overall after a dominating performance Saturday at Pineland Farms.

(Photos by Phyllis Graber Jensen/Bates)

The Mules had five of the top nine runners in the race to score 28 points. Bates College, with winner James Jones, took second with 45 points and Bowdoin College finished third with 49. The other seven teams all had more than 130 points.
"The men's race was special because it's only the third time we've won that meet since the 60's," Colby head coach Jared Beers said. "We were exactly who we wanted to be at this meet and I'm thrilled with the way that both teams came together this week. There is still work to do, but they should be very happy with the day."
Colby's David Chelimo (pictured), who missed all of last year due to injury, is getting his stride back and was the runner-up to Jones in 25 minutes, 20.2 seconds. Jones clocked a 25:17.3. Chelimo will have next weekend off to rest and then Colby will host the New England Small College Athletic Conference Championships on Saturday, Oct. 29, at Quarry Road Trails.

Benard Kibet was a strong third for the Mules in 25:29.7. He was nearly six seconds ahead of the the fourth place finisher. Nathan Madeira took sixth place for the Mules in 25:38.3, Griffin Gagnon was eighth in 25:45.2, and Tom O'Shea took ninth with a 25:54.8.

Tom O'Donnell placed 22nd for Colby in 26:52.2, Noel Feeney clocked a 26:56.0 for 26th place, and Eli Decker was 31st in 27:06.7. 

The rest of the Colby runners included: Aziz Ghadiali (34th, 27:15.9), Gabe Kline (37th, 27:26.4), Reeve Maddux (38th, 27:28.7), Tommy Griffith (41st, 27:46.7), Josiah Johnson (43rd, 27:48.5), Eli Tukel (44th, 27:48.7), Alan Ottenstein (51st, 28:07.7), Robert Campbell (52nd, 28:19.2), Robert Dettmann (53rd, 28:20.6), Liam McDonough (54th, 28:31.8), Jake Lester (60th, 28:47.7), Sam Crimmins (62nd, 28:50.3), Andrew Li (66th, 29:13.4), Zach Mishoulam (86th, 31:13.0), Julian Boed (93rd, 32:16.9), Jason Beland (94th, 32:22.0), 

University of Southern Maine was fourth with a score of 131 and was followed by University of Maine at Farmington (165), Thomas College (202), Maine Maritime Academy (209), St. Joseph's (209), University of Maine at Presque Isle (235), and Unity College (304).

While Colby had not won since 1993, the Mules did not race all their top runners in 2014 and finished third. Colby went on to win the New England Division III title and finish fifth in the country that season.