Chelimo, Gagnon earn All-NESCAC honors for men's cross country

David Chelimo WATERVILLE, Maine -- David Chelimo (Nyahururu, Kenya) is on the New England Small College Athletic Conference Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team for the third time after finishing in third place and teammate Griffin Gagnon (Hollis, N.H.) made all-league for the first time Tuesday.

Chelimo, a senior, was the NESCAC Rookie of the Year and made the All-NESCAC Second Team as a first-year. He was runner-up in the 2014 race and was on the All-NESCAC First Team. Chelimo missed all of last season due to injury.

Chelimo (pictured) continues to get stronger and faster during the season. He finished in 31st place in his first race since 2014 at a meet at Williams College. Chelimo's other finish was second at the State of Maine Championships to James Jones of Bates College two weeks ago.

In Saturday's NESCAC championship race at Quarry Road Trails in Waterville, Chelimo finished ahead of Jones and defending champion Mohamed Hussein of Amherst College. Tim Nichols of Tufts University won the race, while Jumbo teammate Luke O'Connor took second.

Gagnon has been a consistent runner for the Mules this year, including a finish of eighth at the State of Maine Championships. The senior also was second at the Colby/Bates Class Meet and took 11th at the Williams event.

Gagnon placed 58th at last year's NESCAC meet, but was strong on the wet course Saturday in taking 13th. All seven of the runners on the All-NESCAC Second Team earned all-league honors for the first time.

NESCAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team

Most Outstanding Performer: Tim Nichols, Tufts

Rookie of the Year: James Jones, Bates 

Co-Coach of the Year: Peter Farwell, Williams & Erik Nedeau, Amherst

First Team 

David Chelimo, Colby, Sr., Nyahururu, Kenya

Ben Decker, Williams, Jr., Yarmouth, Maine 

Ben Bosworth, Conn. College, Sr., Dorchester, Mass.

Mohamed Hussein, Amherst, Jr., Hargeisa, Somaliland

James Jones, Bates, Fy., Colorado Springs, Colo.

Tim Nichols, Tufts, Sr., North Lima, Ohio 

Luke O’Connor, Tufts, Sr., Chicago, Ill.

Second Team 

Cosmo Brossy, Amherst, So., Los Angeles, Calif.

Danny Aschale, Conn. College, Fy., Cambridge, Mass.

Will Dudek, Wesleyan, Sr., Montclair, N.J.

Griffin Gagnon, Colby, Sr., Hollis, N.H. 

Matt Jacobson, Bowdoin, Sr., Westfield, Mass.

Liam Simpson, Williams, Jr., Cape Elizabeth, Maine

Nicholas Walker, Bowdoin, Sr., Lyme, Conn.