Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Haskell, Reid named top athletes at Colby Senior Awards Ceremony

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Mardi Haskell and Carl Reid combined for six All-American honors and Tuesday shared the spotlight as the winners of the Ellsworth "Bill" Millett Award at the 29th Annual Colby College Senior Awards Ceremony.

The Millett Award is for the top athletes in the class. There were 10 awards given out at the dinner.

Haskell was a four-time All-American for Colby's women's alpine ski team at the NCAA Division I Championships. She was an All-East First Team selection all four years and was the Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association (EISA) Rookie of the Year. Haskell had two All-American honors in the slalom and two in the giant slalom.

Reid, the first Colby men's tennis player to reach 100 career wins in singles and doubles, is a two-time All-American and a six-time All-NESCAC selection. He also was the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. Reid had 56 career singles wins and 51 doubles victories, most with four-year partner Vlad Murad.

Women's Nordic skier Amy Bianco, men's hockey player Colin Reilly, men's Nordic skier and cross country runner Silas Eastman, volleyball player Karolina Serhan, men's alpine skier Michael Boardman, men's hockey player and golfer Geoff Sullivan, women's hockey player and softball player Katie McLaughllin, and athletic department worker and softball player Robin Spofford also were honored Tuesday. 

Sandy Maisel, the Goldfarb Family Distinguished Professor of American Government, was honored with the first Mule Impact Award.

Bianco is the only student-athlete to be honored twice. She was named as the Patty Valavanis Award winner at the Colby Student Awards Ceremony on May 3. The award is for academic and athletic excellence and personal leadership and sportsmanship.

Bianco, a three-year captain and active on campus, qualified for three NCAA Division I Championships and was an All-East skier. She was third in the 15-kilometer race this year at the Eastern Championships.

Reilly earned the Richard L. Whitmore, Jr., Award for academic and athletic excellence. He ranked third in cumulative grade point average of all senior student-athletes. Reilly, an economics major, earned his team's Academic Achievement Award for the past three years.

Men's alpine skier Boardman and men's hockey player Sullivan shared the Norman White Award for inspirational leadership and sportsmanship. Boardman, a captain, skied in two NCAA Division I Championships and has been the best male skier all four years. Sullivan was one of the top defensemen in the NESCAC for hockey and was an All-NESCAC golfer.

Volleyball player Serhan was honored with The Pamela Hoyt-Sanborn Award for sportsmanship and leadership. Serhan was a three-year captain, ranks among the top 10 senior student-athletes in grade point average, and is active on campus. She finished with 730 kills for the volleyball squad.

Eastman was honored with the Donald P. Lake Award for athletic ability, leadership, and academic accomplishment. Eastman competed at the NCAA Division I meet and was an All-East Nordic skier. He also competed at the NCAA meet for cross country and was a three-time All-NESCAC runner.

McLaughin was honored with the Marjorie D. Bither Smith Awrad for academic and athletic ability, and leadership in athletics and on campus. She had 102 career hits for the softball team and finished with 27 goals and 34 assists for 61 points for women's hockey. 

Spofford, a key student worker in the athletic department, won the Warren J. Finegan Award for significant contributions behind the scenes to the success of Colby athletics. Spofford worked for Jessica Cherry, Colby's Associate Athletic Director, and was the top hitter on the softball team this past season.

Maisel is a familiar face at Colby's athletic events, but also sits on committees for coach searches and is active in many other ways to benefit the athletic department. Maisel is the former director of the Goldfarb Center for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement (2003-2012). The Mule Impact Award is for faculty or staff person at the College for their engagement, leadership, and support of Colby athletics.

Nine Colby student-athletes -- Jenna Athanasopoulos (women's track and field), Michaela Athanasopoulos (women's track and field), Elizabeth Baker-Wacks (women's swimming and diving), Sophia Bartels (women's crew), Roy Donnelly (men's track and field, Scott Fenwick (men's hockey), Vlad Murad (men's tennis), Alan Ottenstein (men's cross country, track and field), and Elisa Stern (women's swimming and diving)  -- were Class of 2017 Phi Beta Kappa inductees. 
Haskell seventh for Mules
January 28, 2017 Haskell seventh for Mules
Haskell sixth in slalom
January 21, 2017 Haskell sixth in slalom