Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Colby’s past half-century is rich with basketball tradition. The powerful teams of the 1950s created a groundwork for the storied teams of the 1970s. In 1974 the Colby-Bates-Bowdoin (CBB) competition was introduced. Colby dominated on a regular basis from the beginning, winning 17 outright championships and sharing nine others.

Colby has been a strong force in the NESCAC, sending 18 teams to ECAC tournaments from 1972 to 2002, winning three ECAC championships (1990, 1991, and 1993), and sending three teams to the NCAA tournament since the conference began qualifying teams in 1994.

Over the past three decades the program has had 13 All-Americans, with the crowning moment being the 1990 selection of Matt Hancock ’90 as National Player of the Year. Adam Choice ’10 earned third team All-American honors after the 2009-10 season.

A great strength of the program is its alumni group, one of the most active and connected in Division III.