Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

O'Connor named to All-NESCAC First Team for men's hockey

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Colby College senior Nick O'Connor (Canton, Mass.) saved his best for his final season and Tuesday earned New England Small College Athletic Conference Men's Hockey First Team All-Conference honors.
Making the first team is no easy feat in the NESCAC, one of the top hockey conferences in the country. 
"From start to finish Nick had an amazing season leading a young team on the ice and off," Colby head coach Blaise MacDonald said. "He played a dominant role in our offensive game, leading the league in conference scoring, and was also one of our best defensive players. This conference is getting tougher each year and to be recognized as a top player is a great accomplishment."  
O'Connor, a co-captain, started the season strong and never let up. He ranks tied for first in the league in conference-only scoring (8 goals, 13 assists), tied for first in power play points (4 goals, 5 assists), tied for second in both power play goals (4) and game-winning goals (4), third in overall scoring (14 goals, 13 assists), third in goals, and tied for sixth in assists. O'Connor had all 13 of his assists in league play.
During last year's NESCAC title run and NCAA Frozen Four appearance, O'Connor had 11 goals and 13 assists for 24 points. 
A Concannon Award semifinalist for top American born player in New England Division II/III, O'Connor finished his career with 38 goals and 37 assists for 75 points in 103 games.
2019 Men’s Ice Hockey All-NESCAC Awards
Player of the Year: Tim Sestak, Wesleyan
Rookie of the Year: Lucas Michaud, Trinity
Coach of the Year: Chris Potter, Wesleyan
First Team
F – Walker Harris, Wesleyan
F – Joey Lupo, Amherst
F – Nick O’Connor, Colby
D – Michael Grande, Trinity
D – Phil Johansson, Amherst
G – Tim Sestak, Wesleyan
Second Team
F – Jason Brochu, Hamilton
F – Roberto Cellini, Williams
F – Lucas Michaud, Trinity
F – Marcus Mollica, Williams
D – Chad Malinowski, Wesleyan
D – Nick Rutigliano, Hamilton
G – Tedy Loughborough, Trinity