Nelson, Carey '01 to be inducted into Maine Sports Hall of Fame

WATERVILLE, Maine -- Colby College will be well represented at the Maine Sports Hall of Fame 43rd Induction Ceremony with longtime head trainer Carl Nelson and former women's hockey player Reagan Carey '01 being enshrined.

The ceremony is at the Collins Center for the Arts at the University of Maine on Sunday, June 3, at 2 p.m. The Colby President's Office is a lead sponsor for this year's ceremony. Colby legend Dick Whitmore will be the master of ceremonies.
Nelson worked at Colby from 1959 to 1993 and also worked at the 1972, 1976, and 1980 Winter Olympic games. Nelson, an associate professor and director of health services at Colby, also served as director of the Pine Tree Camp for children with physical disabilities for more than 30 years.
Colby's student-athletes are cared for at The Carl E. Nelson Center in the Harold Alfond Athletic Center. Nelson also has been inducted into the National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA) Hall of Fame, 
Carey was a two-sport captain and a standout hockey and volleyball player during her time at Colby. She was a forward for the hockey team and still holds a hitting percentage record for volleyball.
Carey is currently USA Hockey's Director of Women's Hockey and is the general manager of the U.S. Women's National Hockey Team. Her leadership helped the U.S. team win the gold medal at the 2018 Winter Olympics in a thrilling victory over Canada. The U.S. team also won the silver medal under her tenure at the 2014 Olympics and has won five goal medals in world championship play.
Jason Bartlett (harness racing), Dana Bullen (skiing), Patrick Dempsey (actor, cycling), Dewey Dewitt (broadcaster), Tammy Jacques (cycling), Kristen Kenoyer Woodland (gymnastics), Dick Meader (basketball), Anita Murphy (tennis), Leroy Patterson (football, basketball), and Bobby Wilder (basketball, football) also will be inducted Sunday.